Steph- Farewell Blog

3 Aug

Grace and I have been very busy creating a contact database for CIF, helping design and start an august fundraising campaign, having a productive meeting with National Day Laborer Organizing Network, and wrapping up our time here. Our last day is August 6th! I hope that all of our work this summer serves to help the Centreville Labor Resource Center get off to a running start. That we’ve helped raise awareness among the workers so that when it comes time to form a worker’s assembly they will have an idea of what a labor center can be. I hope all of the fliers, form templates, grant research, fundraising letters, and thinking we’ve done about CLRC help everyone who gets involved in the future to be able to have more to work with than when we got here in the summer.

I’d like to thank Alice and Jerry Foltz, Carlos, Alejandro, Miki, OG Harper, Connie Rojas, Terry Angelotti, Brooke Perez, all of the CIF board members and volunteers, Wellspring Church, George Crossman, Richard Thayer, Mary Schaller Blaufuss, Ana Karim, Paula, David Bennett, NDLON, Garrett, and my wonderful fellow intern Grace for making this amazing summer possible.

This opportunity has been the one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. I was able to work in a truly positive and supportive environment with many different people from whom I could learn a lot. Despite being just an intern/volunteer I felt like everyone valued Grace and I’s contributions to CIF. I met some amazing members of the immigrant community here who despite racism, classism, and xenophobia are able to act on what is in their hearts and try to make their community better.  I gained perspective, friendships, and experiences that I hope will be with me forever.

Next time Grace and I see you all again the center will be open!

Gracias,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

